Every year, the Independent Publishers of New England runs its Book Awards program with the aim of recognizing the “best of the best” in recent independent publishing. All independent and small publishers are eligible to enter. The IPNE Awards serve the industry by rewarding publishers and authors for exemplary work and providing readers another means of achieving success in an increasingly noisy marketplace. A panel of distinguished librarians, booksellers, literary agents, and editors judges the awards. The organization honors the winners at the Annual Conference in November. 

Meet the 2023 IPNE Annual Book Awards
Winners & Finalists!

Along with the gratification and marketing opportunities that indies receive by winning a respected book award, finalists and winners are showcased on the IPNE website for one year, and they receive a 2022 IPNE Book Award e-medallion for display on social media channels, websites, book covers, and marketing materials. IPNE honors the winners at the annual IPNE Book Awards ceremony. The submissions period runs from April 14 to June 30.

Each book will be judged by three independent judges, drawn from a panel of literary scholars, librarians, and other qualified reviewers selected by IPNE’s Book Awards Committee.

All entries will compete within their categories, and also for the top prize of IPNE Book of the Year.

Read about last year’s IPNE Book Award winners!

Books with a publication date of the current and two prior years are eligible to enter the current year’s IPNE Book Awards. Categories and full details are posted at the beginning of the registration cycle.

For IPNE members, the fee is $45 per title (one category), and $25 per additional category.

For non-nembers, the entry fee is $70 per title (one category).

Registration includes one of the following categories for each book entered. You can register for as many categories as you wish for $25 each.

  1. LITERARY FICTION: Written as literary work, does not fit the traditional formulas of genre fiction.
  2. GENRE FICTION: Mystery, romance, science fiction, fantasy, inspirational.
  3. CHILDREN’S BOOKS: Picture book, early reader, middle grade.
  6. NARRATIVE NONFICTION: Biography, memoir, nonfiction that tells a story.
  7. INFORMATIONAL NONFICTION: Directories, travel guides, how-to, self-help, reference.
  10. DESIGN: Cover and interior are evaluated.

Entry Process & Information

  • Register online at
  • Submit your payment via online registration
  • Mail 4 printed copies of your book to IPNE (recognizing the cost to indies, e-books are being considered for 2023 and beyond).

Save the date for IPNE’s Annual Conference and Book Awards—Nov. 19, 2022.

Winners will be announced live on Zoom during the second day of the conference. Entrants are welcome to bring guests for a celebratory dinner and awards ceremony.

If you have questions or would like to volunteer to help with this event please email

About the Independent Publishers of New England (IPNE)

The Independent Publishers of New England (IPNE) is an organization of professionals, authors, and companies who collaborate to help each other learn and succeed in the independent book publishing field.

The IPNE Book Awards continue to be a favorite of IPNE members and other indie publishers. Winning a book award or being named a finalist not only brings a sense of personal validation but provides countless opportunities for promoting and marketing your book!


Depending on the number of submissions for a category, IPNE reserves the right to combine, divide, or otherwise modify the award categories. In the event that categories are added for a particular genre, consolidated, or eliminated, the submission will be judged in the category(ies) most relevant to the submission(s). IPNE’s Book Awards are facilitated by a volunteer committee that is made up of IPNE members and governed by the IPNE Board of Directors.