Every year, the Independent Publishers of New England Book Awards program recognizes the best of the best in recent independent publishing. The Awards serve the industry by rewarding publishers and authors for exemplary work and provide readers with another reference point for navigating an increasingly noisy marketplace. 

The Awards are judged by a panel of distinguished librarians, booksellers, literary agents, and editors. The winners are honored at the annual conference in November. 


Registration Begins
14 Apr 2022

Registration Ends
30 Jun 2022

Registration (depends on selected options)

1 Book Entry – $45.00
Entry fee for one book.

2 Book Entry – $85.00
Entry fee for two books.

3 Books Entry – $125.00
Entry fee for three books.

Along with the personal satisfaction and marketing opportunities that come with winning a respected book award, winners enjoy many other benefits.

IPNE showcases the books of winners and finalists on the IPNE website for a year after the Awards; sends a 2022 IPNE Book Award electronic medallion for display on social media channels, websites, and marketing materials; honors all at the annual IPNE Book Awards ceremony.

The submissions period runs from April 14 to June 30.

Each book will be judged by three independent judges, drawn from a panel of literary scholars, librarians, and other qualified reviewers selected by IPNE’s Book Awards Committee.

All entries will compete within their categories, and also for the top prize of IPNE Book of the Year.

Read about last year’s IPNE Book Award winners!

If you have a book with a publication date of 2020, 2021, or 2022, you are eligible to enter the 9th Annual IPNE Book Awards. Scroll down for categories and full details!

The fee is $45 per title (one category), and $25 per additional category.

Registration includes one of the following categories for each book entered. You can register for as many categories as you wish for $25 each.

  1.  LITERARY FICTION: Written as literary work, does not fit the traditional formulas of genre fiction.
  2. GENRE FICTION: Mystery, romance, science fiction, fantasy, inspirational, etc.
  3. CHILDREN’S BOOKS: Picture book, early reader, middle grade
  6. NARRATIVE NONFICTION: Biography, memoir, nonfiction that tells a story.
  7. INFORMATIONAL NONFICTION: Directories, travel guides, how-to, self-help, reference, etc.
  10. DESIGN: Cover and interior are evaluated.

Entry Process & Information

  • Register online (click the Register button above, left)
  • Submit your payment via online registration
  • Mail 4 copies of your book to IPNE
    Please note we only accept hard copies of books for the Book Awards; e-books will not be accepted

Save the date for IPNE’s Annual Conference and Book Awards—Nov. 2022, date to be announced.

Winners will be announced live during the second day of the conference. Entrants are welcome to bring guests for a celebratory dinner and awards ceremony.

If you have questions or would like to volunteer to help with this event please email talktous@ipne.org.

Call For Book Awards Judges 2022

Have you got what it takes to be a judge for the IPNE Book Awards?

Serving as a judge for the IPNE Awards is a great way to give back to the publishing community and a great way to become a more vital part of that community.

We’re looking for qualified individuals with a solid background in books.

Judges may be booksellers, librarians, literary agents, developmental editors, former acquisitions editors, authors, and/or other members of the literary community considered eligible by the Awards Committee. The successful candidate is well read in one or more genre(s), which includes being knowledgeable about the particular aspects that make a book of that category successful. For fiction, for example, the storytelling principles of plot, setting, characterization, and so on. For narrative nonfiction, story development similar either to fiction or to essay, with the additional considerations that readers look for in true stories. For informational nonfiction, an author with credibility and expertise in their subject matter, material clearly and logically organized, and so on.

For the design award, we’re seeking judges with a solid background in or experience with book design. Design judges focus exclusively on the cover design and layout of a book.

You do not need to be a member of IPNE to serve.

You must not be a publisher, a full-time employee of a publisher, or a member of the IPNE Board of Directors. You also cannot judge books in the same year’s program in which you also enter books.

For 2023, the judging period will run from July 1 to September 30. Each book is read by three judges. Each judge typically reads from one to three books. For this year, for all adult and YA books, we’re shooting instead for two.


About the Independent Publishers of New England (IPNE)

The Independent Publishers of New England (IPNE) is an organization of professionals, authors, and companies who collaborate to help each other learn and succeed in the independent book publishing field.

The IPNE Book Awards continue to be a favorite of IPNE members and other indie publishers. Winning a book award or being named a finalist not only brings a sense of personal validation but provides countless opportunities for promoting and marketing your book!


Depending on the number of submissions for a category, IPNE reserves the right to combine, divide, or otherwise modify the award categories. In the event that categories are added for a particular genre, consolidated, or eliminated, the submission will be judged in the category(ies) most relevant to the submission(s). IPNE’s Book Awards are facilitated by a volunteer committee that is made up of IPNE members and governed by the IPNE Board of Directors.